Nanowrimo?

dear-reader3

Hey guys! I was just wondering if anyone else out there was doing Nano this year? For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, Nanowrimo is National Novel Writing Month, or Nano for short ’cause that’s a mouthful. I’ve attempted it in the past and never managed to finish – which is ridiculous because my profession now has me writing twice that in a month… But that’s not the point.

The point is, that it has come once again! Nano takes place every November and it’s really just a personal challenge to see if you can write 50k words in a month. It’s harder to do than you might think, but it can be a lot of fun! And sometimes you just need that extra kick to get yourself down to business and writing your novel.

So I just wanted to see if anyone was taking the challenge? I’m doing it this year, though I know it’s going to turn out bad. It always does, but I’m determined to work at it! At least try, right?

If you want more info on it, here’s the link: Nanowrimo!

Feel free to comment on whether or not you’re doing it below or if you have questions, etc. I’ll do a real post later (I know, I totally bombed the Halloween Read-a-Thon… So much for plans. It was a super lame Halloween for me and it sort of breaks my heart, but such is life).

Thanks for checking in!

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

7 thoughts on “Nanowrimo?

  1. The thought of writing 50k words in a month is so daunting that I can’t see myself ever doing it. It would make me anxious the whole month that I haven’t written enough or that I’ll fail (which I know you can’t). I’ve had people tell me I should do it, but stress. I wonder how to do press yourself to write? I get bored after a few scenes sometimes. I know nothing is perfect it’s all rough work, but still so many words! I’m assuming you’ve done this before? Have you ever gotten close to 50K words?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really not too bad. The hardest part is staying focused and not getting bored, you’re definitely right on that. But if you think about it, you only have to write about 1700 words a day to complete by the end of the month. Which really isn’t so bad, because you’ll probably write 3k one day and then 1k the next and it’ll vary, so you won’t have to just keep pounding away at the keyboard.

      But one thing that helps sometimes, is have a couple of different stories going. The one you’re really working on and then one or two others that you just like to mess with periodically. That way you don’t feel bogged down by having to focus on just this one thing. That can help, even though it seems like you’re doing more work.

      But mostly, I just try to keep the end goal in sight. Because I really want this, lol. I’ve never made it to 50k before. Usually I get about halfway through before life takes over and I have to quit. Or sometimes I’m just not really into it. Like right now, I’m only about 11k in, but I have hope that I’ll keep going and keep trying and maybe finish this time.

      Sometimes, you just have to isolate yourself and sit down with a cup of coffee and some music to get yourself to write. (And disconnect the internet…) Sometimes, you just need to find something you really want to write about and that’s enough to motivate you. But breaking it down into smaller sections each day definitely helps out! Or, write every couple of days, but make the writing days include bigger chunks! Sometimes that works, too.

      And most importantly: don’t worry about it. If you accomplish it, awesome! But if you can’t, don’t sweat it. No one’s going to be mad at you or even disappointed. It’s just supposed to be a fun, encouraging exercise. So, yeah, you should definitely do it. Just don’t let it get in your head and stress you out – this is only for fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s some really good advice! I’m thinking of doing it next year since I have no ideas at the moment. I used to write so much when I was a teenager and I miss how creative my brain was then! I know I still have it in me I just am quite lazy now! 😛
        I think I may re-write stuff I wrote back then and make it better, because I did love the story (although it got pretty crazy ha!) I know it could be better!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes! Rewriting stuff is awesome, too! It’s an important part of writing that can be such a pain in the butt, but it’s totally worth it! Good luck – and post some of it if you get the chance and feel like it.

        I’ll look for you next year. 🙂 We can Nano together!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

