Bookish Book Lover Tag

bookish-book-lover-tag

Thanks to mreadsbooks for tagging me! And sorry for taking so long to do this one – I lost the link ย -.-; I love, LOVE that this one is so long! They’re so much fun that way. ๐Ÿ™‚ On with the tag (finally)!

banner-rules

  • Use the banner!
  • Answer the questions with LOTS of book covers!
  • Tag your bookish friends!

banner-quesitons

heart…books are you currently reading?

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee |ย Seeing Evil by Jason Parent | The Boy with Words by C.E. Wilson | Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2) by Sara Shepard | House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski | The Independent Publisher by Jarrod Jenkins

I’m always reading a lot at once these days, but the ones I’m currently focusing on are Seeing Evil (it’s a RAR that I need done by the 6th of October), Boy with Words (an ARC that I’ve had for a while), and The Thousandth Floor. The others are just what I go back to when I have spare time and don’t feel like reading anything else. Flawless is just tedious at this point and House of Leaves is really complex, but I’m determined to finish!

heart…the last book you finished?

The F#ck It List: #1: The Best Friendย by Rae Lynn Blaise

This was… okay, but not really what I usually read. It’s smut and very short and basically PWP, so I wasn’t super thrilled with it. The writing was *okay* so maybe if it had been longer, I would have enjoyed it more. But if you just want a short smut read, this isn’t a bad choice.

The one before it is more appropriate for this blog!

Courage (The Dreughan, #1)ย by Lena North

Not a great read, but not utterly terrible. Also not in my typical genre, it was a fantasy. The idea was great, the execution only so-so. But it was okay.

heart…favorite book you’ve read this year?

Okay… I can’t pick just one. SO, here we go. My favorite books from this year! (There are a lot!)

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan | The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin | Night Broken by Patricia Briggs | Unveiled by Lysa Daley | Mortality by Kellie Sheridan | This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers | The Dead of Summer by Heather Balog

I guess if I absolutely HAVE to pick one, I’d say This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers. It’s sort of hopeful and heartbreaking all in one. And it was a gift from a super special awesome best friend of mine, so that gives it some extra brownie points!

heart…genre you’ve read most this year?

Hm, I think YA Paranormal takes the cake. I’ve actually read a bit more of a variety than I usually do this year – there were some contemporary, some zombies, some romance and fantasy and urban fantasy – but I think the strongest thread through my Have Read list has been paranormal.

Mara3

heart…genre you’ve read least this year?

Haha, nonfiction? Smut? Historical fiction? There are a lot of genres I shy away from, honestly, and it’s because I mostly don’t enjoy them (such is the case with nonfiction). I’m not strictly opposed to Historical fiction, but I have a harder time getting into it. I have to be in the right mood, I suppose.

REIGN
My guilty pleasure… Reign — 2013 The CW Network, LLC. All rights reserved.

heart…genre you’d like to read more of?

Horror! I love horror movies, yet I rarely read specifically horror books. Sometimes zombies, often paranormal, but rarely horror. I’m going to fix that this coming month, but I was a little surprised with myself when I realized I hadn’t read much in the way of horror!

trick_r_treat
Trick ‘r Treat (2007)

heart…how many books have you read this year – and what’s your goal?

I’ve actually surpassed my goal! My Goodreads reading challenge goal was 50 books and I just surpassed it at 52 books! And I’m hopefully not done yet. There are a lot of books I still want to read, so we’ll see what that number ends with. ๐Ÿ™‚

readingchallenge

heart…last book you bought?

if-i-was-your-girl

If I Was Your Girl by Mereditch Russo

It came TODAY! I’m so excited for this book – I’ve been eyeing it since I first saw it on Goodreads and I finally just splurged. I’ve heard a couple of different things about it, but I love the cover and the idea of the story, so I’m really hopeful!

heart…book you’re saving up to buy next?

Fear the Drowning Deep by Sarah Glenn Marshall |ย Caraval by Stephanie Garber\

There are a ton that I want, but those are the top two!

heart…how many books you last checked out of the library?

Three. I’ve just switched to a new library (we’ve moved in the last year) and one of their rules is that you’re on probation when you get a new card. So I’m limited to three books until I’ve been proven trustworthy lol.

u-of-a-library
I miss the U of A library…

heart…book you can’t wait to read?

ouija

Ouija by Katharine Turner

It’s kind of silly, but I’m super excited for this because it’s the one that really kicked me into October/Halloween mode.

heart…series you recommend to everyone?

I know this is going to be cliche, but I’m going to say Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling.

I want to mention that I *would* recommend The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins to most people, but I also know that it’s not for everyone. I personally love it and think that most people should at least give it a shot. But THG is different than HP. It deals with things that maybe younger kids aren’t really equipped to deal with yet. HP does eventually, too, but it did it in such a way that you grew up with the kids and I think that is a little different than THG. And I think that HP is a little milder regardless.

heart…author you’re hoping writes more?

Heather Balog. I loved The Dead of Summer and I really hope that she writes more. She has several adult books, but I wasn’t all that interested in the summaries. Really, I want her to write more YA books, because this one was SO unexpectedly good. Loved it.

heather-balog
Heather Balog

heart…a few books your heart adores?

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater | Divergent by Veronica Roth | Sisters Red by Pearce Jackson | This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers | The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

heart…series’ conclusion that makes you sad?

Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Look, everyone had their issues with Allegiant. I’m not necessarily saying that I didn’t approve of the ending or that I hated the series because of the ending. Instead, I’m saying that it made me sad. It broke my heart. And that’s for two reasons. First, because of what happened (not going to spoil it if you haven’t read it). I’d grown so attached and… yeah. That was just heartbreaking. Second, because it was OVER. I’d devoured these books and it was truly upsetting to know there would be no more. Even if I didn’t like Insurgent and Allegiant all that much. I still hoped that the series might somehow get better again and return to the amazingness that was Divergent.

heart…books on your wish list?

O.O SO MANY BOOKS. OODLES AND OODLES OF BOOKS. Seriously, there are a ton. I’ll list only a few, but know that there are MORE!

 

banner-tags

…and anyone who wants to do it!

(Also, if you’re doing this, just tag whoever you want – no minimum number for tagging!)

Thanks for making it to the end guys! Hope you have as much fun as I did!

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

11 thoughts on “Bookish Book Lover Tag

    1. You’re welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Lol, I know! I didn’t know until I saw it on someone else’s TBR list and I was like “now I have to have it toooooo”. I’ve only just started it, however, and I’m not sure how good it’s going to be… :/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw no. I hope it turns out to be amazingly creepy or at least picks up and is a decent read lol.

        There’s another Ouija movie coming out soon that looks amazing !! (Ouija: origins of evil)
        It could be out over there lol we’re always pretty behind on movies and books ๐Ÿ˜’๐Ÿ˜‹

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I saw the previews for that! It hasn’t come out yet (I think, but it is supposed to this month, so maybe it just did… I live in a small town, so we get things super late if at all). It looks so good though! I can’t wait to see it!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha sounds like where I live!! Along with only getting certain movies here, I have so much trouble finding new release books. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        It looks super creepy, I’m excited for it!!
        They have planned the release really well lol, just in time for Halloween!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I know! I would be totally SOL without the internet which is where I get most of my books. It sucks, but it’s too far to go to a bookstore to find new releases.
        And I’m dying to see it! It looks so creepy, better than the first I think! I’ll probably have to wait til it comes out on DVD tho.

        Like

  1. I’m also reading House of Leaves right now!!! It is such an experience, omfg. The echoes section was hard to get through for me, but once you finish that part it really just picks up & it’s so good so far. I hope you’re liking it!!!

    And high five for Trick r’ Treat!!! I want the 2nd one already!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. House of Leaves is pretty epic! I was reading it for school, so I slowed down a LOT once we were done (we didn’t finish for class), but I’m determined to finish it! It’s too… strange to not, lol. Awesome that you’re reading it, too!
      I DIDN’T EVEN KNOW THERE WAS A SECOND TRICK ‘R TREAT!!!! Ahem, but thank you so much for telling me, because now I have something super awesome to look forward to! The first one is up pretty high on my favorite movies list! So glad you caught it!

      Like

  2. Aww, man…if I had known you wanted to read Fear The Drowning Deep, I would have told you it was a Read Now on Edelweiss. Is there any way I can share books with you? If it had been emailed to me, I totally could have…but they send it directly to your kindle. Argh!
    I’m so glad you’re reading The Thousandth Floor. I hope you like it!
    Thanks for tagging me: though it’s long, I like this one!
    I’m still trying to get through The Rose and the Dagger. Sigh.
    Congrats on your surpassed goal! I wanted to include an embedded link to it so people can see the progress, but I don’t know how to do that: maybe you need a paid blog? Idk. But I’m at 130something…and that’s only because I had a LOT of free time before school started.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Darn it! I am so, so dying to read that one! I think we can lend books to one another via Kindle, but I need to look more into it. I’ve been so swamped that I haven’t done much of anything. Except maybe get totally and strangely addicted to Wicked by Armentrout, but that is completely justified. I mean, I need to unwind, right? Anyway, if you could lend it to me, that would be awesome. I’ll try sending you something first to see if it works.
      I’m having trouble getting into Thousandth Floor, not that it’s bad, but all the switching characters make my head spin sometimes. I think once I get a little farther, I’ll be hooked though. I’m hopeful!
      Jeez, Rose and the Dagger kicking your butt a bit? Sounds unfortunate. >.<
      I have NO idea how you embed it! I was looking to see if I could do that, too, but couldn't figure it out. I ended up just copying the picture and using that lol.
      You are a goddess. I don't think I'll ever read 130 something books in a year. I mean, maybe if I had oodles of time… but even then probably not. I get too distracted lol. But congrats! That's totally awesome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

