Halloween Read-a-Thon: TBR

dear-reader3

Because I am currently suffering from one of the worst writer’s blocks I’ve had in a long time (a combination of short-timer’s disease and a complete irritation with not getting paid…), I thought I would go ahead and post my TBR list for Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews’ Halloween Read-a-Thon. (You should definitely join if you haven’t already!)

I’ve broken this up into the Shorter Books That I Might Actually Fit In By Halloween and Longer Books That I Really Hope I Have Time For (But Probably Won’t). But for brevity, I’ll refer to them simply as Short and Long.

Starting with Short:

  1. MARY: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan
  2. Teen Spirit by Francesca Lia Block
  3. The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender
  4. The Hallowed Ones by Bickle
  5. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
  6. Ouija by Katharine Turner

Moving on to Long:

  1. Shutter by Courtney Alameda
  2. Frost by Marianna Baer
  3. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
  4. Possess by Gretchen McNeil
  5. In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
  6. Dead Girls Don’t by Mags Storey

I’ll just say that I could find MORE, but these were the ones that I bought specifically for October – I may have gotten a little excessive, BUT I got some great deals (Possess was only $4 with shipping and I got both Shutter and The Body Finder for free thanks to a promotion!).

If you’ve noticed, there are a total of TWELVE books on my list. I KNOW that I will not finish them all in October. However, I will try my hardest to get through at least half of them. And since one of the challenges is to read at least six, I’ll aim for that anyway!

Now, on to the specific challenges!

costume-party

shutterI totally pick Shutter for this one! It is one of the creepiest covers I’ve seen in a LONG time and I am seriously impressed. It creeps me out just by looking at it and I think if I saw it sitting on my shelf in the dark, I might just freak out. That’s a win for me! (Wait, didn’t I just say I was going to try and stick to my Short list? Apparently I’m a liar.)

.

.

.

.

.

.


haunted-house

ouijaHm. I think I’ll do either Ouija or Teen Spirit for this one, because they both deal with ghosts and spirit boards. I’ve really been dying to read Ouija, so I’ll probably do that one (AND IT’S SHORT!), especially since I’m not one hundred percent on Teen Spirit. But it sounds like it could be pretty good, so we’ll just have to see.teen-spirit

.

.

.

.

.


urban-legends

maryI’ve got the perfect one for this! (Actually, I could use Anna Dressed in Blood for this one, but since Lauren used it as an example, I’m going to list my alternate instead.) Mary: The Summoning about Bloody Mary which I can remember trying to call with some of my friends as a kid. We freaked ourselves out because when we turned off the light, someone SWEARS they saw red eyes looking at her in the mirror! (It was actually just the LED light from a plug, but that didn’t take away the lingering sense that something crazy had totally just happened. Ah, the good ol’ days.)

.

.


witching-hour1

blackbirdsHm. This one’s a tough decision, but I think I’m going to say either In The Shadow of Blackbirds or Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall. I’m not sure which one will be creepier, but I LOVE the cover for Blackbirds, so I think I may end up doing that one. I should pick a creepier one, really, but… I reserve scaring myself silly at 3am for The Conjuring and Sinister only, thank you. 😉

.hysteria-hall

.

.

.

.

.


trick-or-treat

dead-girls-dontHm. I’ll think about a free genre book, but honestly I’m probably going to try for Dead Girls Don’t, because I’ve had that one for almost a year and still haven’t gotten to it! The others I’ve gotten more recently, so I haven’t really been putting them off. If I come up with one I’d rather, I’ll update this, but otherwise, I’m going to go ahead and go with Dead Girls Don’t! (Also, I have a red cover, but I like the blue one better.)

.

.

.

.

.


all-hallows-eve

the-body-finderI think I’m going to go ahead and say The Body Finder on this one, because I REALLY want to read it, but it hasn’t cropped up for any of the other challenges! I probably won’t get through even half this many, but I’m putting it down anyway! (Also, I can’t really say why, but I absolutely love this cover. I have since the first time I saw it and I love it all over again every time I see it. Maybe it’s the contrast? I don’t know.)

.

.

.

.

.


I love so many of these covers!

Note: I have more. Ebooks galore, but I just cannot list them all. So these are the ones I bought with Halloween specifically in mind. I hope that by some miracle I will find the time to read them all, but even if I don’t, I know that I will get to them eventually. October may be the spookiest month of the year, but there’s something creepy about November and December, too. It’s about the cold and the ending of another year. So I’ll get to them. Eventually.

Also, the credit for the graphics (except for the main header, can you tell? Lol) goes to Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews. Aren’t they flippin’ adorable?! They make me happy.

I hope to see you all join in on the Halloween Read-a-Thon, because I think it’s an awesome idea! But even if you don’t, I hope you have a spectacular October!

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

24 thoughts on “Halloween Read-a-Thon: TBR

    1. Thanks! I’ve been staring at Anna Dressed in Blood for a while now and have been dying to read it. I finally got it this past month, so I’m really excited and hope I have the time foe it. Thanks for doing this Read a Thon – it’s awesome! 😀

      Like

  1. I absolutely loved In The Shadow of Blackbirds and Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall! I would highly recommend reading them!! They are not super scary, but they both have that creepy, eerie vibe that just gives you all the Halloween feels. 🎃👻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got In The Shadow of Blackbirds on an ebook deal! I love snagging a book with a pretty cover and an interesting description for my Kindle library, which is more impressive than my actual one, lol!
    I have so many books stowed away that are physical copies that I have no idea what I have and what I don’t have…I grabbed several at garage sales, and some at used book stores!
    Good luck with your Halloween challenge! I know you’ll make it work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, no kidding! Having real books takes up way too much space! Especially after moving… I mean, it’s nuts. But I love having them, too… Still, it’s super convenient (and much cheaper) to have ebooks, so I admit I’m grateful, lol.
      Let me know when you read it and what you think! You always write awesome reviews.
      I hope school doesn’t bog you down too much and you get to do something fun for Halloween!

      Like

    1. That’s an awesome list! I remember the creepy stories from when I was a kid. That cover, the one with the clown-skull-pipe-smoker-head totally stayed with me. O.O Best of luck to you!

      Like

    1. Haha, I have to agree. It’s got a sort of American Horror Story without all the gross stuff feel to it. x) I’m actually dying to read it and hope it’s as awesome as it looks. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

