Review: Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

dear-reader3

I really enjoyed this book, though I’ll admit that the first half of the book our main girl Kylie annoyed the poop out of me. She was incredibly judgy I though, always with the “freaks this” and “freaks that” like she was prejudiced against anyone who didn’t meet her view of norm. But as the story progressed, she got better. Worlds better. And I think that’s why I ended up liking it so much. She went to Shadow Falls as this ignorant, jerm of a girl who was too wrapped up with herself and just being normal, but by the end she had really opened up and started to give people a chance. That kind of character growth can really save a book.

The paranormal stuff was so so. We didn’t get to see a lot of Kylie’s abilities which was disappointing, but the ghost stuff was really well done and I appreciated the mixing of the different mythical creatures, though that’s been in a lot of novels I’ve been reading lately it seems.

There was the obligatory live triangle, which is only sort of working for me in this. I instantly liked Lucas and instantly hated Derek, and let’s not even talk about Trey unless we’re saying he’s a pushy jerk. (Which he is.) Maybe it’s just my live of werewolves, but Lucas had all the dark and sexy going on. Yay for ruggedness.

Anyway, I hope it doesn’t drag on forever, but I sense that it will. Hopefully she’ll at least go for my pick.

All in all, this gets about a 3.7 and I would recommend it for those who love Hex Hall and any sort of romantic love triangle. Also, give it at least halfway. This one’s a little slow to love.

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

born-at-midnightTitle: Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls #1)
Author: C.C. Hunter
ISBN: 0312624670
Language: English
Approximate Length: 398 pages
Stars: ★★★★☆
I have a used softcover version.

2 thoughts on “Review: Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

    1. I think you might enjoy them. The first is pretty hard to get into with Kylie, but after about halfway she isn’t so annoying lol. And some great female friendships! But I wouldn’t recommend buying this new or anything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

