Reader Confessions Tag

dear-reader3

I was tagged by Alex @ youngatheart1blog! Thanks! 🙂

…have you ever damaged a book?

Actually, yes. I’m telling you all this in the greatest of confidences, but, I’ve burned a book before. O.O Please don’t hurt me. It’s a complicated story, so I’ll just give you the bones.

I was a teen at the time and going through some… rough spots. Bad spots. And for reasons that are *really* hard to explain, a specific book that my mother bought me brought so many of them to a head. Not because it was a bad book or a book that I wouldn’t later enjoy. Rather, I wasn’t *ready* for that book and my mother insisted that I needed to be. It’s a very strange experience looking back on it now and I can honestly say that I’m unlikely to be burning any more books.

…have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Nope. I can honestly say I have not. I’m good with other people’s books, because I know how awful I’d feel if someone else damaged mine.

…how long does it take you to read a book?

It depends. I’m not the fastest reader in the world, I’m sorry to say. (Compared to my significant other, I read like a slug. Seriously, he reads so fast that he’s flipped the page in the blink of an eye.) That being said, I’m significantly faster when I love what I’m reading – and I’m in the mood to read. I can read something I love in a day or two, if I have the time. But that’s the other part about how long it takes me to finish something. I usually don’t have the time. So if it takes me a month, it takes me a month. Not because I don’t want to read it, but because I have no time.

…books that you haven’t finished?

numbers-game

Numbers Game by Rebecca Rode

Try as I might, I just couldn’t really get into this one. I found it boring and hard to focus on, even though it should have been right up my alley. I’ll try it again at some point, but it won’t be soon. Hopefully, I’ll like it better the second try.

poison-study

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I started this because I was going to do a buddy read, but I ended up not having the time for it. So I set it aside for the sake of other things. It’s not what I usually read, but I was intrigued, so I think I’ll give it another go at some point. There are just too many others that I’d rather read right now.

breaking-dawn

Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

I stopped when Jacob became a pedophile. Need I say more?

atlas-shrugged

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

I *really* wanted to like this book. And maybe at some point I will read the *other* 500 damn pages of it… but if I hear one more word about Rearden Steel, I may lose my mind. I do want to know who John Galt is, so that might be enough to push me into submission…

…hyped popular books that you don’t like?

I’m kind of a bandwagon girl honestly. If it’s got hype? I probably like it… except when I don’t. The books that come to mind are:

Selection

The Selection by Kiera Kass – NOT for fans of the Hunger Games. I mean, honestly. It’s like The Bachelor meets Cinderella meets Matched. Which brings me to the next one on my list…

matched

Matched by Ally Condie – I *wanted* to like this. But I just didn’t care. I liked Delirium better and I *didn’t* like Delirium. There didn’t seem to be enough danger for me or enough struggle. (Though now that I think about it, I think this counts as Dystopian!)

Blue Bloods

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz – Twincest. SO not okay with that. At all.

City of Bones

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – Because I’m not sure I can trust Clare and more to the point, this was sort of annoying with the POVs, wasn’t all that spectacular in the writing department, and Clary was *really* annoying. And so was Jace.

marked

House of Night by P.C. Cast – I think they used “poopy” in there at some point. And have you *ever* met a less likable protagonist? They’ve made character you are *supposed* to hate that I liked better…

Wow, okay, now that I’ve made the list, there are actually quite a few that I don’t care for despite being hyped up. Some of them I’ll read anyway, some of them I appreciate why they’re popular, and some I just flat out hate. (House of Night I’m looking at you…)

…is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

Hm. Well, if I were reading Fifty Shades of Grey, I wouldn’t tell anyone BUT I also wouldn’t be reading it. (That can go on the DNF list, too, now that I think about it. And yes, I know, this one isn’t YA either. Thank. God.)

fifty-shades-of-grey

And no, it’s not because I’m anti-smut. I really don’t care if there’s sex in it, though I don’t necessarily read a lot of books with it in it. (Mostly because I so often am hired to write it, that I really don’t want to read it, too.) Instead, it’s that 50 Shades is a really problematic book in that it blurs lines of consent, misrepresents a sexual subculture (that is NOT how bondage works folks, or dominant/submissive, because it’s all about feeling safe with your partner and having a way out – which the author completely throws out the window, thus the blurred lines of consent I mentioned earlier). It takes away a woman’s power of choice AND it promotes this idea that you can rehabilitate an inherently damaged and dark person with absolutely no training in psychology and being way too close to the subject. Seriously, at the very minimum, it teaches you that 1) it’s okay if you think he’s a serial killer so long as he looks sexy and is rich, 2) it’s okay to not give consent as long as your body ultimately ended up enjoying it, and sometimes if it didn’t, and 3) all boyfriends should be controlling and abusive if they’ve got the money for it.

And people like this crap?

Anyway, that got out of hand. I’m sorry. Other than the above, no, I suppose there aren’t books I wouldn’t tell people I was reading. Maybe TMI, since I have a love-hate with Cassandra Clare. There *are* books that I wouldn’t go out of my way to tell people I’m reading, but that’s more because I know some people wouldn’t care for it, so why get into an argument over it?

…how many books do you own?

Um, ballparking, I would say… a couple hundred maybe? It’s hard to say, because I’ve obviously read more than I own, but I have a bunch I own that I haven’t read yet… Plus ebooks.

…are you a fast or a slow reader?

I talked about this earlier. I’m a snail. It sucks.

…do you like to buddy read?

On the one hand, yes, I totally do! It’s so much fun to fangirl about a really good book – or rant about a really bad one. But unfortunately, my schedule usually doesn’t work out, so I’ve only really buddy read once. 😦 But I would do more if I found a flexible buddy and some free time!

…do you read better in your head or out loud?

In my head. Though I do talk to myself when I’m thinking… Does that count? No, oh, then just forget I mentioned it please.

…if you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

Oh, jeez, this is hard. I would pick Divergent by Veronica Roth OR Moon Called by Patricia Briggs (which is not YA, I know).

Both of these novels have kick started my reading when in a slump and reminded me why I love strong females – and why it’s still okay to have someone around to help you out. They have very real characters and a story I can read over and over again. It’s great.

The Tagged:

So, I tag…

Marie’s Library

ChicNerdReads

alilovesbooks

If you guys want!

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

8 thoughts on “Reader Confessions Tag

    1. I’ve heard that from a couple of different people now! Most say the first was really good and the sequel was only so-so. I hope to get back to it eventually, but I’ve got so many other things to read… Why is there not more reading time in life? x.x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow…I wouldn’t have guessed on the books you didn’t like…yeah, Jacob as a pedophiile was creepy. But “supposedly” it was different, and it still grossed me out. She was a freaking baby, for crying out loud.
    But I loved Matched…it’s what got me really into other books. I read it after The Hunger Games. And I LOVED Delirium…
    But the others I agree with.
    Your fave is Divergent? I would never have guessed that! You keep surprising me! 🤔
    Love your tag answers: I know you so much better now!

    Like

    1. Yeah, I don’t care how she tried to spin that. It was totally creepy and I just couldn’t get over it. I still shudder when I think about it.
      Really? I never would have guessed Matched would have kick started your reading! But it’s really not bad, I just didn’t like it so much. In a lot of ways, it was the same as Delirium. I didn’t think the writing was terrible, but I didn’t feel like there was enough conflict going on to pull the story through. I think it was because it was *all* romance for me and not enough of the world and the danger it was supposed to represent.
      Yes! I LOVE Divergent! And the Hunger Games, but if we’re going by the first book in the series, Divergent wins. If we’re going by the series as a whole, the Hunger Games wins for me. Because I really enjoyed The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, but Mockingjay was only so-so. But both Insurgent and Allegiant are terrible for me. I just didn’t like where Roth took the story (and I’m not talking about the traumatic ending either lol).
      But yes, I am actually a dystopian junkie. I love paranormal, too, and sometimes enjoy contemporary, but dystopian YA is where I do my main fangirling. x)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, what happened was I fell in love with Hunger Games, so I googled “books if you loved the Hunger Games, and these lists came up…and that’s how I was led to Matched, which led to Delirium, which led to Wither…etc etc etc. That’s why I loved them so much: I was eager for this type of material. And I hadn’t read in a LONG time, and when I did it was Asian historical fiction. I know, what a change, right??

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I haven’t checked out Wither yet, though it’s on my list. I’ve just heard mixed things about it and I’m not sure how much I’ll enjoy it.
        I’d just like to say that I really didn’t feel like Matched or Delirium were very much like the Hunger Games… I felt like they were trying to be, but focused so much on the romance that they missed a lot of the cool stuff that they’d built into their worlds. I would have *loved* to explore more of the Delirium society. I just wasn’t hooked on the romance and that was such a huge part of the story.
        … Asian historical fiction? Wow, what a leap! Though I could see that being very interesting!

        Like

  2. Really great answers! I am actually reading Delirium right now 🙂 and I have to say Poison Study is pretty good but I haven’t read the sequels since I didn’t hear great things about them 📚thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with Delirium! It ended up not being something I liked all that much, but it wasn’t bad. The writing was really good and it was an interesting concept, I just didn’t think there was enough danger going on. But I hope you like it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

