Totally Should’ve Book Tag

 

dear-reader3

Thanks to hermionefowl for tagging me! (I’m doing this instead of work, because I *really* don’t want to work on my current project right now.)

Totally should’ve… NOT gotten a sequel:

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver

Okay, I’m doing the opposite of this one for two reasons. First, I couldn’t think of something that didn’t already have a sequel that I thought really needed one. Second, because there are a few series where I was just like “WHY DID YOU RUIN THIS WITH A SEQUEL?!?!” Complete with all caps and exclamation points.

Of these series, Shiver takes the cake. Why? Because I *so* loved the first one – and completely hated the others. Which is really odd for me. But everything I loved about Shiver – the sweet romance, the need to be human, the desire for connection and to remain one’s self – all of that seemed just *poof* gone in the sequels. The second was tolerable; the third, atrocious.

Totally should’ve… had a spin off series:

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

Sisters Red

Because I *loved* these characters so much! Maybe the girls have to be reunited by some evil werewolfy force! Or their children – or whatever! I don’t even care. I just wanted more! (I didn’t list this as needing a sequel just because I think technically it has one, it’s just not with the same characters since these are “fairytale retellings.” So I felt it didn’t count.)

Totally should’ve… ended differently:

The Dead of Summer by Heather Balog

Dead of Summer

Because there was so much I still wanted to know. Was he there? Did he wait? Were they still the same when they met up again? Could it have worked out somehow in the end? I’d have liked to think so, but it would have been nice to know, too.

Totally should’ve… had a TV show:

Unleashed by Nancy Holder

Unleashed

Because a town of werewolves and mysteries and betrayals and loves… C’mon, it’s begging for a TV show! And if you can make The Vampire Diaries awesome, anything is possible!

Totally should’ve… had a film franchise:

Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic

Okay, maybe not *franchise* but I would love to see Panic as a movie. I think it would have a Stand By Me kind of feel to it, don’t you?

Totally should’ve… had one point of view:

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant

Because Four just didn’t work for me in this, and I love him. Roth just didn’t sell me on their differing POVs. I understand why she had to do this, but I felt that it would have been better to just have a conclusion as opposed to alternation POVs. They just sounded way too much alike and that got confusing. It is one of the reasons that I disliked Allegiant so much. In fact, it’s one of the main ones.

Totally should’ve… had a cover change:

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

Because I just snicker whenever I see golden boy’s chest…

Totally should’ve… stopped reading:

The Selection by Kiera Kass

Selection

…but I didn’t. I read through book two and everything! And I didn’t really even like it that much, which always confuses me. I did the same thing with the Twilight series until it just made me so angry that I actually wanted to *burn* books. It was a low point for me. This wasn’t quite that bad, but it baffles me as to why I continued to read the series as I really didn’t care for it. Go figure.

Totally should’ve… kept the cover:

Unveiled by Lysa Daley

Because this Unveiled 1 is just so much better than Unveiled 2. More interesting, more unique.

Totally should’ve… not pre-judged:

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Lightning Thief

I think of how long I put this book off and I’m sort of ashamed. I ended up loving this book, even though it was for a younger audience, and I should have really known better. I’m all about mythology and if I’d given this one a try a while ago, I would have been thrilled and probably finished with the series already. Shame on me.

Finally: Tags.

But only if you guys want to. 🙂

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

8 thoughts on “Totally Should’ve Book Tag

    1. Lol, right? It happened with book 2, too! And I really want to read that one, but – and this is stupid – I don’t want the cover with the girl on it. The other is so much better, but I can’t find it anywhere!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hate when they do that…they changed the cover for Suzanne Young’s Hotel Ruby and renamed it Hotel of the Lost or something stupid like that…and the image is so much worse. Makes it look generic. So far on Amazon they still have the original cover, but I guess it didn’t do as well as they hoped (I personally loved it), so they’re rereleasing it.
        I HATE when they do that. Good luck finding the other one!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

