Review: September Girls by Bennett Madison

**Also published on Goodreads**

dear-reader3

This is fitting, right? September Girls review for September? Ah, if only I could find a month-named book for every month! Actually, that may be my new challenge and I invite you all to do the same!

Anyway, on with the review.

I want you to know that rating this was difficult, because the story was complicated and I was on the fence the whole time.

But I had to rate this low, because in the end, I hated it.

The writing at first was intriguing. It was whimsical and fun, sort of blaise and I don’t give a rat’s rear end. It was all “this is life and that’s hard, but I’ve got it all figured out” which made every character this superior jerk who are all incredibly unlikable in the end. The writing which was initially clever and unique became prickly and irritating. It was too hard to follow for an ENTIRE book and more importantly, it didn’t give you anything. It made the characters all the same. It made the plot indecipherable. It made the point cloudy at best and unbearable at worst. It’s not just that this wasn’t the book that I was expecting or looking for. It was this was the book I didn’t want.

I do want to mention that the lore was fun as was the collective “we” of the Girls. I thought them crawling out of the water was creepy in the best way and I thought having them be somehow just “different” eerie even from the normal girls was nice.

But it wasn’t enough.

I wanted to bring up sexism because everyone else already has. I don’t know if this is sexist, but at times I was offended. By the focus on housewives and Women’s Land and the stupid trickets and the Girls’ desire for patent leather shoes. I was offended by the way they were all the same and how it was all about this stupid boy who was making sex this all important and then unimportant thing as his whims dictated. I was offended because these women characters were all empty shells, stereotypes, and caricatures that weren’t substantial enough to be real women.

I was offended, but maybe that was the point? I don’t know. But in the end, this whole thing just felt like the story of a dumb boy who never realizwd that girls and women are their own people, so it’s hard to like that.

I don’t think I can recommend this, though in some respects it’s almost really good. It just wasn’t enough for me.

sincerely3

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

September GirlsTitle: September Girls
Author: Bennett Madison
ISBN: 0061255637
Language: English
Approximate Length: 352 pages
Stars: ★★☆☆☆
I have an ebook version purchased through Google Books. (I do LOVE this cover though.)

One thought on “Review: September Girls by Bennett Madison

Leave a Reply

