Review: The Girl by Lola St. Vil

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

I’m going to give this 1.75 stars (which is being generous, I’ll just tell you now) because I can’t quite bring myself to make it a 2, though it got significantly better the farther I got.

So, the things I liked about this book:

The diversity. I liked that not every character was some white guy/girl who fit the stereotypical vision of American movie star beauty. That was refreshing, though I wish we got a little more of their cultural color through the writing.

… um, that’s about it actually. I was going to say the mythos of the Guardian world, but that wasn’t really original and by the end, there was so much darn junk added in that I just gave up on keeping it straight.

So, on to what I didn’t like.

Emmy. Ever. She was so… childish. Bratty. Selfish. Unlikable. Whiny. Ultimately useless. And the insta love was pretty gag worthy.

The love triangle. The one where Emmy and Marcus are basically two timing jerks. I mean, break up with Meana already or commit, but this whole I’m going to use someone else to resist the person I actually love is horseradish sauce! It makes everyone out to be a jerk and even while I HATED Meana, I liked her more than the other two, because in the end, she was in the right.

The action sequences. At first, I appreciated them. The fighting meant that they were actually dong something, but then they just dragged on and on and *on* a never-ending litany of weird angel fighting. I mean, jeez, just kill someone already!

The weird angel stuff. It was interesting ish, but every time something new came up it was a bout of endless exposition, all telling, no showing. And there was SO much of it. Way too much. Artifacts and Snaps and powers and types of angels… all of them with backgrounds so that we poor ignorant readers won’t be left out of the loop. Please. Give me some credit, this isn’t my first rodeo.

Rules. All of them. See above complaint.

All in all, I did not like this. It dragged. The characters were mostly interchangeable and unlikable. Emmy = worst heroine ever. Marcus = who not to fall for. Ameana = Xena Warrior Princess if Xena were a royal jerk.

I gave this over one star only because I saw noticeable improvement in the writing as the story progressed. Not enough to make me like the novel, but it was there.

Probably would never recommend.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

The GirlTitle: The Girl (Guardians #1)
Author: Lola St. Vil
ASIN: B006VRXR42
Language: English
Approximate Length: 313 pages
Stars: ★★☆☆☆
I have an ebook version, the one with the girl only on the cover with the purple eyes. (A picture of which I could not fine with decent quality. This is the alternate cover.)

Leave a Reply

