Review: The Dead of Summer by Heather Balog

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

First, I just want to say that the reason I didn’t give this book a solid five stars, is because there were SO many darn grammar errors (mostly missing words). However, otherwise, the writing was solid and very fast paced.

Kennedy was incredibly likable and reminded me so much of me as a kid, that I had to put it down for a minute and reflect. It was crazy, but it was nice to see a real character – overweight, but most of the “ugliness” assumed by that trait (which is so bogus to begin with) in her head because she’s been leaned on so hard about it. Kennedy is quirky and nerdy, but not genius smart. Her friend is way more popular and she follows her around because she feels like maybe she has no options.

Carson was likable, too. The kind of boy whose done the popular thing and rethought it due to personal tragedy. It makes him a decent guy without being unrealistic.

And of course, the mystery stuff. It had me going and I couldn’t put the book down until I knew what had really happened! So well done. And I didn’t feel like it was too much Nancy Drew or too much One Tree Hill either. It was an excellent blend of mystery and romance (though it’s romance heavy in the first few chapters).

I will say that Carson’s story felt a *little* rushed at the end, but everything else was so good that it didn’t bother me.

I would definitely recommend this book!

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Dead of SummerTitle: The Dead of Summer
Author: Heather Balog
ASIN: B012BBZBAO
Language: English
Approximate Length: 209 pages
Stars: ★★★★☆
I have an ebook version.

One thought on “Review: The Dead of Summer by Heather Balog

Leave a Reply

