Review: Howl by Jody Morse

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

I’ll be generous and give this book ABOUT 2 stars (which is closer to about 1.6 stars, but I’ll round up for the sake of brevity… which I just completely nullified with this author’s note). Then I’ll preface this by saying it wasn’t the worst thing I’ve ever read, but it wasn’t very good either.

Most of my problem with this was the writing, some of my problem was the story itself, and some of it was how it ended.

The Writing: While the writing wasn’t so riddled by mistakes that it was holey, it had numerous ones that could have easily been remedied by a decent editir (or even a mediocre one probably). The language and structure of the writing was middling at best, and while it never sunk to the level of bad fan fiction, it never reached the level of good fan fiction either. I felt like this was written by a high school student who hadn’t gotten to the finer points of finesse and how to craft interesting writing. There wasn’t enough development making the lack of passion grating and even silly, there was too much telling without showing, and as a result it was difficult to become attached to the characters.

The Story: So this is about werewolves, obviously. But what sort of werewolf society allows for their kid wolves to go around killing each other? How can you have “potential” mates? That basically discounts any concept of loving someone for who they are AND it means a weird instalove thing that is beyond annoying. And she doesn’t even know the damn boy!!! Ugh, no. Also, why would she even consider joining a pack that’s planning on killing her, with her best friend and brother apparently just aokay with the whole thing? Like, really? Is anyone here likeable? No, me thinks not. And is it just me or does Sam snap at her “mate” a lot and without much care about him?

The Ending: No spoilers, but this was a pretty big cliffhanger. You didn’t get anything resolved. You’re left with a pretty dramatic moment. And you don’t really know why or what is fully happening. Sure, meant to reel in readers, but it didn’t work for me. It was just irritating.

So the verdict: I wouldn’t recommend this book. The author needs way more experience and probably some writing classes before I’d consider another of her books.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

P.S. I just discovered that not only has the author written this series, but also at least two (or three?) others. I am horrified.

Book Information:

HowlTitle: Howl (Howl #1)
Author: Jody Morse
ASIN: B006Q1L7MM
Language: English
Approximate Length: 262 pages
Stars: ★★☆☆☆
I have an ebook version.

Leave a Reply

