Review: Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

Okay, so the premise of this book is sort of interesting. I don’t usually go for the angel demon explanation (because it seems so common these days), so that was slightly off putting, but I was willing to look past it. Having the stuff with the Roanoke colony was cool and I actually wish that had been more of the focus. The present day stuff was too much and over the top. All the glam, the brands, the rich jerk attitude. It was like half the book was just name brand dropping and I just didn’t care. I don’t care about brands in real life, why would I care in a book?

Beyond that, the Blue Blood stuff was confusing. It seemed to jump around and half explained something only to tell you just kidding a second later in lieu of some other preferable explanation.

And the twincest.

Um, ew. No. It’s just too weird and hard to get away from and that’s the kinda stuff that shows up in horror movies when you finally figure out someone’s the villain. So no. Not comfortable with that.

I didn’t care about Mimi, or really Jack for that matter. I liked Oliver until he was something in the realm of Blue Bloods. Bliss was annoying. Dylan was sort of just an errant thought. And why did she love her cold, emotionless grandmother again? Forget the adults anyway. They were all worthless.

And finally, the constantly shifting POVs was not working for me. Too much going on and not enough focus.

All in all, I didn’t really care for it and wouldn’t recommend it I don’t think. Which is a shame, because I had relatively mediocre to high hopes for this book and there’s another series that I want to try by the same author, but this one hasn’t made me want to dig into it…

Read at your own risk.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Blue BloodsTitle: Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods #1)
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
ISBN: 0786838922
Language: English
Approximate Length: 302 pages
Stars: ★★☆☆☆
I have a softcover version purchased from a used bookstore.

Leave a Reply

