Review: The Healer by C.J. Anaya

**Also posted on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I give this 3.5 stars.

So, in the end, I enjoyed it, but it took me a while to get there and this book is not without issues.

The book that I started to read felt like a completely different book from the one I finished reading. The beginning led me towards this present day government conspiracy possibly religious oriented story. Which was not what this was at all. Which I am actually kind of glad about, but it made the book a little disjointed. There was this sense that the author wrote the first half of this, then left it alone for a year and came back to continue jt, forgetting where she’d originally been going with it. I wish she’d been less focused on how paranoid about the gov’t Hope had been, because it threw me when we got to all this mythology stuff.

Then there was the insta love. The author tried really hard to make it NOT insta love, or at least explainable, but it was there all the same. And a love triangle (which eventually becomes a quartet, but regardless). And the main girl has never kissed a boy, because thats the popular trend right now. And she doesn’t see how to gorgeous men could be in love with her. Blah blah blah.

That being sais, the romance was what made this work as a story. It wasn’t all “making out with hot guys twenty four seven” and it was interesting because of the rich mythology (a lot of ehich I didn’t know which is cool and original for me!) though the whole “belonging” to someone like that is a little annoying for me. The opposing choices in male leads for Hope were at least different e.ough that I appreciated who they were in relation to each otger and their connection to Hope. Even if Tie is a pain and Victor is superior.

I LOVED the relationship of Angie and Hope. They were nicely balanced, if a little cliched in their roles. Angie was fun and quirky and very entertaining. Their bond was sweet and very natural. I also liked the overprotective dad, always overreacting and then not overreacting because the situation DEFINITELY warranted it in the end.

So I guess what I’m saying is, don’t read this if you don’t like romance. If you do, be aware that this takes a little time to get into. It’s a reasonably well written books, though there are some formatting issues and sometimes it’s a little stereotypical. I would recommend this and I will read the second when I have time.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

HealerTitle: The Healer (The Healer #1)
Author: C.J. Anaya
ASIN: B00KPI7HX0
Language: English
Approximate Length: 265 pages
Stars: ★★★★☆
I received a free ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

