Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

**Also posted on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

When I first got this, I was a *little* concerned that it wouldn’t live up to all the hype, and lately I’ve been a little more critical about books than I usually have. It’s been hard to just really get lost in a book and enjoy it without wanting to put it down.

But this book did that for me.

I thought this book was beautiful and addicting. I spent about two thirds of it thinking that I was missing something, that this wasn’t the book I thought it was and then when it was, I was breathless. I loved how broken and desperate to do good Mara was, how things always went wrong despite the best of her intentions. I loved how empty Noah was, how self destructive he was, how they were these opposites in ability and in personality, yet their instincts contradicted what they wanted and tried to do. I loved how he was there for her and didn’t believe her at first. I loved that this was an odd mixture of real problems and something else. Something darker.

Mara3

The writing was beautiful. The characters gnawed at your heart and elbowed you in the ribs like your best friend teasing you. And the damn chemistry was perfect and obnoxious and omg the dog!

This book was terrible and great all at once and I so wanted a happy ending, but how can it provide that?

The mystery is engaging and it switches between that and romance, which isn’t all fluffy and prince charming. There are all these tiny details that slowly add up to create this crazy picture there at the end.

Mara4

And the ending. Jeez, the ending. Obviously I won’t spoil it for you, but know that you will not see it coming and if you do you’re a liar. This book was beautiful, engaging, and darkly, sweetly twisted.

I give this book five stars and yes, I recommend this. Yes, you should try this out, if only because the writing is good and Noah is my new book boyfriend even though he’s frustrating and because you’ll want to know the end. Try it. It’s worth all 452 pages of it.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Unbecoming of Mara DyerTitle: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
ISBN: 1442421770
Language: English
Approximate Length: 452 pages
Stars: ★★★★★
I have a softcover version that came in the box set of three.

Leave a Reply

