Review: The Glass Ceiling by Julie LaVoie

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

So. I’ll start by saying this was a decently written, heavy book with some very strong themes that are important. I think it’s a book worth reading and encourage people to pick it up. That being said, it was not the book I was expecting and I didn’t enjoy it as much as I woukd have liked to.

The plot: Interesting if not wholly original. Trapped in a dome after an apocalypse, society has deteriorated badly. And that’s kinda where I start to like this book less. Society has turned against love (think Delirium by Lauren Oliver) and as a result the sexes are split. Worse than that, women are second class citizens. They have no rights, no say in their futures or what’s going on in their society. There’s racism as the dome tries to breed a perfect society. There’s rape, molestation (under 18 fondling by an old man counts in my book), not to mention torture and violence. None of it’s terribly graphic, but it doesn’t need to be. The connection to reality is too close for me. The lessons to be learned were a little too heavy handed, though I think they were all incredibly valuable. I just didn’t enjoy the stoey like I wanted to.

The cbaracters: Heart was… kind of annoying. She trusts everyone too quickly, forgives some, condemns others with little thought behind it. She adjusts a little.too rapidly to be believable and the whole love thing between her and Logan was too forced I thought. I did enjoy Logan’s stuttering, the whole not being perfect thing. Rain was precious and heartbreaking. Daisy was annoying.

Everything Else: The writing was okay, but did a lot of telling without showing. The whole psychic business was very out of place to me. It felt like it belonged in another story. The journaling / experiments stuff was interesting and I wish there’d been more focus on it. The ending was a little too… neat for me. I feel like Heart should have gone just with her friends and after the fact others could have slowly leaked out.

All in all, it was good and I would recommend it, but understand that it’s more for the points it touches on than the actual story as a work of fiction. Thus, a 3.2 star rating.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Glass CeilingTitle: The Glass Ceiling
Author: Julie LaVoie
ASIN: B0199BC5W6
Language: English
Approximate Length: 215 pages
Stars: ★★★☆☆
I received a free ebook version in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

