Review: Asleep by Krystal Wade

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

I received this for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

So, I’m not really sure what to say about this book. I’m giving it 3.75 stars and I think I liked it, but there are so many questions… too many to ignore. So, here we go.

Quick note: This is a fairy-tale retelling, but I’ll just go ahead and tell you that you can only *barely* see Sleeping Beauty snuck in there. So if you’re looking for something that takes a lot of elements from the original story, you may be disappointed and should probably look elsewhere. That being said, if you look at this simply as a story, it’s really worth a look.

First, I want to say that this gets a higher rating because of the quality of the writing. I think Wade has a firm grasp of storytelling and how to give life to very abstract things, which is so difficult. I’m very impressed. I felt very close to Rose, following her down her own insanity and that makes for a very interesting read.

Now, as for the story itself… well, that’s where it loses some points. I enjoyed it to an extent. It was pretty easy to get in to and while difficult to follow at times, you were invested in it pretty early on. I definitely wanted to know what happened.

I think where I had some of my issues was that it wasn’t neatly wrapped up in the end, not really (though it seems that way). There were all these crazy things goi.g on and I went along with them because in the end, I expected an explanation. I only got half of one. We never really understand what the method was behind the madness. I half understand why Underwood did what he did, or his perceived reasonings, but what was the desired goal really? He had to feel on some level this was beneficial, yet how? I think I needed more info after the fact about what he was doing to help with that.

Otherwise it was goos. The crazy was believable as was the I’m not crazy. Rose wasn’t perfect, but still was likable. You wanted her to win in the end. And Philip. Perfect. I won’t say one way or the other about him but not knowing to the end was so frustrating and perfectly done. Awesome.

So yes, I would recommend it. Give it a shot, but be prepared for a wild ride!

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

asleepTitle: Asleep
Author: Krystal Wade
ASIN: B0181W26S2
Language: English
Approximate Length: 340 pages
Stars: ★★★★☆
I received a free Kindle version in exchange for an honest review. (Love, love this cover!)

Leave a Reply

