Review: Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader

I picked up Wicked Lovely because it was one of those books that I kept seeing around and hearing some little chatter about here and there, mostly positive, but didn’t really know anything about it. It then sat on my shelf for what was pretty close to forever before I finally got a little time and was lacking a lot of options, so I sat down and read it.

Surprisingly (I say this because it’s not my typical genre), I tore through it. Maybe it’s partially because it’s a pretty easy read and maybe it’s also because I’ve been sick and had time to just sit there and veg. Either way, I enjoyed it. It wasn’t the kind of book that made me desperate for the next one, though. I’m curious and should I come across Wicked Lovely #2, I would read it I think, but there are so many other books I’m dying to read that it falls fairly low on the list. So I wouldn’t seek it out. That’s why it gets 4 stars instead of 5. I really did like the book and am glad I read it, but I’m not obsessed with it.

A couple of notes: I don’t really like alternating POVs in stories, but I thought this was done really well and it wasn’t overly jarring. It also helped, because Wicked Lovely, although an easy read, has a complex mythology that is difficult to understand from only one side. I also wanted to say that, I enjoyed the romance that there was in that it was unexpected as it unfolded and I was satisfied with how things ended up.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the book, thoroughly enjoyed it, but wouldn’t call it my favorite.

**I wanted to mention here at the end that my opinions of this book have shifted slightly. I spent some time away from it – then came back and suddenly, it was better than the first time I’d read it. I was suddenly in love with the characters (ahem, ’cause Seth is sexy…) and the story intrigued me. It’s hard to say why, but some books take a little time to cure in your head and once they have, they hit you. Amazing. This was one of those books.

So, go ahead. Give it a try. I dare you.

Sincerely

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

wicked-lovelyTitle: Wicked Lovely
Author: Melissa Marr
ISBN: 0061214655
Language: English
Approximate Length: 328 pages
Stars: ★★★★☆
I had an e-book version.

Leave a Reply

