Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader;

So, I’m torn between a 3 and a 4 star review. On the one hand, I was a little disappointed by the ending. I liked the whole witch boarding school thing and to discover what was really going on in the end with her grandmother and what she was… well, it was a little disappointing. I didn’t care for Archer and his badboy routine and I really wanted this moment where we saw that Elodie used a glamour to somehow seduce the general population. We didn’t. I thought having demons involved just wasn’t the direction I was hoping for, and I thought havin “other magical creatures” in the school just wasn’t working since we saw so little of them in the story. I did like the shifter Taylor and I liked the healer sexy lumberjack Cal, but we didn’t see enough of them to be good additions to the story.

Now that I’ve spent the first half of my review blasting the book, I wanted to talk about what I loved.
The boarding school for magical rejects. Very cool and pulled off nicely. The fact that Jenna was a lesbian vampire and it wasn’t weird at all to have her as a BFF. That Elodie really was a jerk, even if she wasn’t just a one dimensional jerk. That there were people who died in the story and that the mystery was rather surprising at the end. I loved Sophie’s snark and her freckles and how she has big boobs but it’s not anyone’s focal point. I loved the moving objects and the weird classes and the mixmatched tables. The school was delightfully weird in all the best ways and the magic was believable for a witch story.

It wasn’t as good as I had hoped, but it *was* good. I would definitely recommend it and will be reading the sequel.

Sincerely,

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Hex HallTitle: Hex Hall
Author: Rachel Hawkins
ISBN: 1423121309
Language: English
Approximate Length: 323 pages
Stars: ★★★★☆
I had a slightly used hardback version.

Leave a Reply

