Review: The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader;

I had forgotten about this book, honestly, but it is one of my favorites. Emotional, well written but easy to read, it makes you FEEL things, as the good books do, and I am happy that I gave it a shot.

I enjoyed that the book was realistic in the sense that there was no paranormal stuff (as I get a little bored with that sometimes), but it was still unusual. The Mockingbirds are a cleverly literary named group that acts as the student run justice system at a boarding school. They handle the stuff that no one else does and they get results.

It’s an interesting look at things like the honors system, a type of “self-governing” body, and how sometimes you have to take things into your own hands – or allow them to be taken into someone else’s. I also feel that this is a beautiful example of how being scared and being brave and doing things that need to be done even though they’re hard, even though you’re scared. And it made me feel better. Bad things happen, but good things can happen afterwards, and that’s the sort of hope and message I got from this book.

Really quite lovely. I would only mention that it might be triggering for some, so be wary, but it’s not graphic and it does have a hopeful ending.

Sincerely,

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Title: The Mockingbirds
Author: Daisy Whitney
ISBN: 0316090530
Language: English
Approximate Length: 339 pages
Stars: ★★★★★
I had a softcover edition with a white cover.

 

Leave a Reply

