Review: We’ll Never Be Apart by Jean Emiko

**Also published on Goodreads**

Dear Reader;

This was what I like to call devastatingly beautiful. I got a whole bunch of books in the last week or so, and when I was ordering (because I could only get so many) I was pretty on the fence about this one. In the end, I picked it up because it was being sold for cheap since it was used and I decided I would give it a shot.

I’m so glad I did.

Jean has written a beautiful, terrible story here that works up emotion and thrill as it goes. It’s a pretty easy read, too, the style straight forward and engaging while still holding on to its secrets. I thought there were parts that were sort of obvious, but Jean does a good job of making you second guess your suspicions throughout so that when it finally reaches the conclusion, you’re pretty surprised or at least have felt like Jean’s taken you on a wild ride.

Alice is lovable; Chase is the bad boy with an underlying sweetness that you can’t help but root for, and Jason is darkly sexy. I liked that the romance was there, but not overpowering, and that in the end there is all of this hope and possibility without being corny… and right alongside that hope is the promise that it’ll still all come crumbling down. There isn’t strictly speaking a happy ending, but it’s a There’s Hope ending which is sometimes just as good if not better.

The story made me cry a time or two, being unexpectedly deep.

I enjoyed the psychological aspect and that it wasn’t terribly over the top. I thought it was a beautiful representation of sanity and madness and how we never really know which one we fall under.

I would definitely recommend this book, though I would warn you that it is sad, intense at times, and you should be aware that though this is a quick read, it’s heady. But so beautiful. I’m definitely glad I’ve read it.

Additionally, I’ll mention that many people will probably “see it coming” and to them I say, “Yes, yes, and you knew what was going on in The Sixth Sense the whole time, too.”

Sincerely,

E.C. Orr

Book Information:

Title: We’ll Never Be Apart
Author: Jean Emiko
ISBN: 054448200X
Language: English
Approximate Length: 279 pages
Stars: ★★★★★
I had a hardcover edition.

Leave a Reply

